Going Stale

The many times I’ve said goodbye to people I know I may never see again could create a compilation of the most heart wrenching moments of my existence.

I’m sitting in a coffee shop, my favorite by the beach in San Diego with a cross breeze that carries the salt scent from the Pacific, another soon to be last as I mentally pack boxes, flipping through photos of faces that will forever remain as they were the final time we made eye contact, ageless and pheromonically secreting memories we made. At that moment I play a montage of the times we laid together, played together, the things we made together, and the number of times we stayed together when there wasn’t, or even when there was, anywhere else to go.

Some people I know will impress upon me forever, 20 something year olds who will stay as such in my mind even after I’ve otherwise decayed, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. There’s a beautiful sadness associated with love and loss, and what was had before there was nothing left to have.

Leave a Reply

